What you do matters

Christianity

Do you believe that the little things that you say and do really matter? Well, they do. After a couple of discouraging days, I have been surprised and thrilled by a few of my friends.

Yesterday morning started off with a voicemail from a friend that may be a little “out there” for some of you….but I loved it! She prayed out loud for me on voicemail. Even though she didn’t know the exact circumstances, her prayer was beautifully simple and hit the nail on the head with what I was going through.

A little later I received this sweet text from another friend:

text prayer

She included a Scripture. (which I couldn’t wait to look up, it was Ephesians 1:17 ) The greatest part was that I didn’t know who the text was from until much later in the day, because I didn’t have her name in my contacts. So for most of the day, I felt better just because a couple of people let me know that they cared about me.

This morning was the icing on the cake! I was stuck at home for a few hours because we had electricians at the house doing work. There was a knock on the door, and it was a friend that I haven’t seen or talked to for a few weeks. She popped by and said, “I have been thinking about you so much the past few days, and praying for you, and I just thought I’d stop by to see how you’re doing.” What?!?!?! Incredible…..

I will close with this thought: What you do and say can really matter to someone. It only takes a moment to pray for someone. You can pray while driving, cleaning, working, or showering. While texting someone a quick message only takes a minute, it could be a turning point in their day. Leaving a message that you care or praying on voicemail actually matters. These three friends demonstrated God’s love to me in their simple acts. I know that others care and are praying, too, but these are tangible markers in my day that point me to the reality that I’m not forsaken or forgotten.

Now pick up your phone and tell somebody you care about them!

Leave a Reply

