Then I saw the clouds

God

If you read the last post, you know that I was struck by the gravity of eternity recently as my dad and I walked through the cemetery visiting my grandparent’s plots. Each headstone that I saw touched me deeply, reminding me of how short our fleeting lives on earth really are. How inconsequential material things are. The little annoyances and things that felt important earlier that morning suddenly faded into insignificance as I weighed them against the backdrop of time and eternity.

Yeah, I think like that a lot. We got into the car, and I leaned back and exhaled deeply, relaxing. I looked up and saw a perfect blue sky, with just the right amount of white, puffy clouds.

Then I thought: Eternity isn’t the only thing that matters. Knowing God and enjoying Him right now matters, too.

Thank you, God, for this moment. It is so beautiful. I love you and I love this moment. 

imgres

I breathed in again, enjoying the perfect temperature and sunny, blue sky.

My dad and I drove away, content with the ebb and flow of our conversation. It was a very good day.

Leave a Reply

