What really matters

Uncategorized

My dad and I did a little excursion this week to visit graves of his parents. As we walked through the cemetery, I was captured by the oldest headstones.

One day, inevitably, 60 or 70 years from now, my name will be on a headstone. It may say something nice, like “Loving Wife, Mother and Sister” (only because they don’t put stuff like “This Mama was cranky before coffee or time with Jesus” on headstones). It may be next to Herschel or in a family plot. But one day, after I die, what really matters and the only thing that matters is what I have done that is of eternal value.

imgres-1

Sixty-five years from now, when someone walks by and looks at my headstone and sees “Christine Rothchild, Loving Wife and Mother”, they’ll never know that I was creative, and disorganized, and that I love coffee. They won’t care. All that will matter are the generations below me that have been affected by my life and what I have done to pour into them that lasts. That thing that lasts is a relationship with Jesus Christ through salvation and giving your life to Him. There is no other thing that matters.

Leave a Reply

