Living Dangerously

Jesus, Uncategorized

I love adventure, but I don’t like to be in danger. Sometimes I can be a scaredy-cat. A few years ago our family was watching the action-adventure movie Salt, with Angelina Jolie.

I’ve never been a big fan, because I’ve only seen one of her movies. But this movie had me enthralled from the very beginning.

It begins with a beautiful CIA agent, Jolie, who is being tortured in a North Korean prison on suspicion of being an American spy. She is released, and a beaten Jolie gets in the car where her boyfriend is waiting, understandably shaken.

He tenderly kisses her, looks at her with deep love, and she tells him, “You can’t be with me. It’s too dangerous; I’m not safe. It’s not safe for you to be with me.” He replies,

“I don’t want to be safe, I want to be with you.”

At this line, I gasped out loud.

My husband thought I gasped because I had the hots for Jolie’s onscreen boyfriend, or because I thought it was so romantic. No. I was struck and audibly sucked in my breath because this is so profound.

What if we answered that way every time God called us out of our comfort zone? I don’t want to be safe, I want to be with YOU.

Let that sink in. I don’t want to be safe, I want to be with YOU. Let that be my answer every time. And may it be yours. Do you believe that God can speak through a movie?

He spoke through the mouth of a donkey. Do you and I want to be safe, or do we want to be with Jesus?

Leave a Reply

