Talking to yourself in the mirror

God, gratitude, women

Women, have you noticed that there seems to be a constant tug-of-war going on in our minds with our body images?

tug-kids2

I don’t know about you, but in my mind, the fighting’s not fair. Most of the women that I know are not ugly, horribly fat and unkempt. Yet to hear them talk about themselves, that’s exactly what you’d think they were. If we were half as hard on other people as we were on ourselves, we wouldn’t have any friends!

What about you? Are you friends with the reflection in the mirror? Do you look at her and point out all of her faults and criticize her?

images

Nobody wants to befriend someone like that. Would you? I wouldn’t. Why do we treat our own body that way….I have been wondering. We are only entrusted with one body for this lifetime. We can be kind to ourselves and our inner talk as well as outer talk, or we can put ourselves down and constantly point out faults before anyone else does. Either way, we will believe ourselves, and we all know that is miserable.

I have been doing a strange but healing practice for myself lately that I think any female can benefit from. When I’m getting dressed, instead of pointing out my own faults, I thank God for my strong legs that can walk and take me places. I thank Him that I am mobile and can do the work that I need to that day. I then thank Him for my arms, then my torso. You get the idea! I practice the same with my face. It’s a little harder when I get to the wrinkles, but I can thank Him for the smile lines because I laugh a lot.

images-3

How different would we feel if we spoke to and cared for our bodies and ourselves the way we do our best friends? Think about it! Maybe you’ll try talking to yourself in the mirror. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Talking to yourself in the mirror

  1. this was perfect for today! I’ve been really thinking a lot on this topic now that Ginny’s here. I hope to empower her to see the very best in herself, inside and out, and realize I need to practice what I preach. Thank you 😊

Leave a Reply

