7 minutes with your teenager

Parenting

There is a seven minute time span that I love with my teenager…it’s the car ride to and from school. These are the best power-packed seven minutes of our day! I used to feel as if I were just “taxi mom”, and I used to complain sometimes about driving my teenaged kids around. Let me be brutally honest: There have been times that it’s just been plain exhausting driving to and from activities and I’ve even resented it or dreaded it.

I’m beginning to see it differently. The seven minutes we spend driving together to and from school are times that I now treasure.

Remember when they were little? All kinds of cuddly moments and nap time, tons of car rides, playgroups and crafts abounded. There was no need to look for power-packed moments. In fact, both mom and kiddos got excited about preschool days. Mom ran errands and talked to grownups, and the little ones had fun with their peers.

Since we’ve shifted this school year from home school to public school, I am on the hunt for opportunities to spend with my daughter. Car rides are my favorite!

Strangely, our morning rides are probably good because I’m so groggy that I don’t pepper her with questions. We ride in comfortable silence for a bit, listen to music, and conversation ebbs and flows. She’ll usually tell me about something that’s upcoming that school day. We pray together as she heads to class.

Afternoons are completely different! We’re both awake, and Danielle usually has anecdotes or triumphs or frustrations to tell me. Now I love these driving times. If I can force myself to be quiet and not try to pry information, it can be my favorite seven minutes of the day with my teenager!

One thought on “7 minutes with your teenager

  1. I am with you on the prying! If i try to pull information out of my girls about their day they just shut down and I get one word responses. But if I just let it go normally, I find myself with a bunch of great stories and information!

Leave a Reply

