Wal-Mart beauty queen

MS

Today I began a three-day ambulatory EEG. That means my brainwaves are being monitored 24/7 for a few days, and I look like this:

Wow!

It’s really sort of fascinating…There are loads of thingamabobs attached to my scalp, a couple on my collar bones, and wires coming from all of them. The white thing I’m holding are all of the wires wrapped all pretty in white cloth.

I can be really vain, but boy, I realized this today on a different level. I realized that I had nothing of substance for lunch or dinner….AFTER I had all of this stuff attached to me. Therefore I went to Wal-Mart. I was really nervous and took a picture of myself on my phone, then sent to a friend to ask if I looked too much like a freak to enter a store. Her response was, “Silly, Biore’ strips go on your nose.” Β Yeah, she’s pretty funny! Β I don’t know what this says about Wal-Mart, but no one even gave me a second glance when I walked through for 20 minutes looking like this:

It was kind of liberating! I thought that I would stay in my house for three days as a hermit, to avoid being seen. It was great! People still ignored me or smiled at me as usual. No big deal, walking through the store with a bandaged scalp. I felt like a radiant beauty queen at my local Wal-Mart. And now we have dinner to boot.

This is part of the diagnostic jumping through hoops to figure out if I have MS or seizures, or some kind of weird migraines. I’m excited to find out the results!

Here I am with jazz hands

9 thoughts on “Wal-Mart beauty queen

  1. Wow! You are truly a beautiful person, you look cute and obvious have mad skills in the head wrap department!

  2. Found out yesterday that I will need to do this – but for 7 days they are saying. Yeah – a little anxious is accurate! Were you glad you did it…happy with the results? Could you bathe? I was glad to find this posted. Thank you πŸ™‚

    1. You’re welcome~ No, it didn’t itch badly at all. I was concerned about that, too. It helped that I had it during a cooler time of year and was careful not to break a sweat as they instructed. Also washing my hair right before the EEG was helpful. I hope you get great results!

Leave a Reply

