Perspectives on Kenya, part 3

Christianity, Photography

Danielle anda little girl play with the ukulele

It’s said that a picture is worth a thousand words. For this post, let’s make it a thousand plus a few thrown in for good measure! Most of the photos speak volumes, but I’ve added my two cents along the way.

We taught 6th through 8th graders to play ukulele throughout the week. This is my favorite picture from our time in Kibera.

We did crafts with the younger students

Stickers are fun accessories

Children wait in line to be served lunch. They are served in the container that they bring to school. You can see that some use plastic lids for plates.

Curious eyes

The innocence and curiosity of some of the younger children is so sweet.

The Kibera New Hope compound overlooks another compound with a chain link fence separating them. This is a child on the other side of the fence.

A boy on the other side of the fence from New Hope compound.

The students look out of their classroom to watch us enter their compound on a school day.

You saw this adorable boy in an earlier post, but I love this one of him watching me.

The outhouse bathroom on New Hope compound is a hole in the ground called a cho. I lost my sunglasses in the cho on our second day there!

Game day was a blast for the elementary kids. They had some crazy relay races around the compound.

In this relay, they had to run from one point to another with a ball between their heads

As we said our goodbyes on our final day, we could promise the Kibera children that we’ll see them again in heaven, if they have a relationship with Jesus Christ. Here Danielle says goodbye.

Our trip leader, Buddy, reminded us several times during our time in Kenya: It’s good to love on the kids and enjoy them, but only one thing will last when we leave Kibera. It’s good that we played games and did crafts, and that many will enjoy playing ukulele after we are gone. However, the only lasting thing is the truth that God loves them, and that they can live forever with Him through a relationship with Jesus.

Danielle kissed by a giraffe

We had a day of rest during our 11 day trip to Nairobi, and we got to visit a giraffe park.

I seriously considered whether or not I will lie on my death-bed and regret not kissing a giraffe. I decided that I would only regret not taking pictures of my daughter with the giraffe. Besides that, I’m good!

great photo by Danielle

8 thoughts on “Perspectives on Kenya, part 3

    1. Thank you so much! I can’t even tell you how happy it makes me to receive your compliment. I am new to photography, and my goal on this trip was to capture faces and emotion. My daughter took about half of these, so I want to give her credit for her skill and eye. Thanks again! πŸ™‚

  1. I was recently in Kenya with a team of 13 other people. We spent some time planting churches there. I stumbled across your post, and just wanted to say that I loved your pictures. What were you doing there?

    1. Thank you! We went with a church here in our hometown with a mission to bring 100 ukuleles to a school in a Nairobi slum. Our team of 17 taught music lessons throughout the week, and the Kibera New Hope students played for a concert at the end of the week. It was a great time!

  2. Hi Christine – This is Lynda from the Sagemont Bookstore / Cafe ministries. I found your pics and, with your permission, would love to use one of them to advertise supporting the 2013 trip. I couldn’t find a way to contact you. Please email me at bookstore@sagemontchurch.org with your response. Many thanks!

Leave a Reply

