The lavish love of God

love, Uncategorized

I’m the first to admit that I cannot comprehend the love of God. In spite of that, every once in a while, I will get a glimpse of the lavish love that He has for you and for me.

There’s a young single woman that I have a very close relationship with. A few months ago I was concerned about a romantic relationship she was in. We had a great talk about how she was feeling toward this guy and where it might be headed in the future. For some reason, I candidly asked her, “Are you having a sexual relationship with him?” When it popped out of my mouth I held my breath. Then she answered that no, they weren’t. We moved on to other subjects and had a great time together.

Fast forward a few months, and she called me one afternoon. After the niceties of greeting each other, her tone suddenly changed and she began to cry. Over and over again, she repeated, “Please forgive me, I have sinned against you. I am so sorry, please forgive me.” She sobbed as she repeated this over and over. My heart gushed with compassion and love for her. After this went on for an uncomfortable amount of time, I told her, “Whatever it is, whatever you have done, I love you.  It’s okay, I love you and I forgive you. No matter what. Just tell me what it is that you’ve done.” Then she told me, “I’m pregnant. I am so sorry,” and she continued to cry. Then I joined her in crying as I was feeling so much love for her, and it hurt for me to hear her in pain. Besides that, I know first hand what it’s like to be a young woman who is pregnant and unmarried. I know that the road she is journeying is not an easy one.

Later I thought back many times to this phone call. Could it be that God gushes with love for you and I, as I felt toward this beautiful girl on the phone? It truly didn’t matter what she was getting ready to tell me. I truly felt that no matter what it was, I would forgive and love her. When I think about how finite and puny my human love is compared to God’s, it blows my mind.

Recently I’ve recognized that it’s hard for me to accept God’s great love for me. I know that I don’t get it, but I want to! I have started asking Him this week to help me accept His love, to understand it, and to experience it. I tend to think too much inside the box on this, as if somehow God were like me and limited in His ability to love. Then I remember that He is love.

See what great love the Father has lavished on us, that we should be called children of God! And that is what we are! 1 John 3:1

But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us. Romans 5:8


3 thoughts on “The lavish love of God

  1. I got a little teary reading this. What a sweet friend you are to this girl. I pray that everything will go well with her.

    I also find it hard to fathom God’s love. I’ve been meditating on Psalm 103 lately. It spoke to me one night about 3 in the morning when I couldn’t sleep. I was so used to dealing with disappointments, and it says forget not HIS BENEFITS! It’s an amazing Psalm!

    Hugs,

    Jennifer

  2. As a followup to this blog on God’s love and how difficult it is for me to understand, check out this from Ephesians 3, I heard it this weekend and it spoke perfectly to this:
    I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, may have power, together with all the Lord’s holy people, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, 19 and to know this love that surpasses knowledge—that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God.
    Great prayer, huh? I’ve been praying it since Sunday, that I will KNOW this love that surpasses knowledge.

Leave a Reply

