True Joy

joy, perseverance, steadfastness, suffering

Joy can mean happy, but not necessarily.  Maybe for the first time, I’m beginning to see that joy is not really based on circumstances.  Sure, I’ve heard that about 100 times. Happiness is a choice; Attitude is everything, so choose a good one; blah, blah, blah. It’s just been in the past couple weeks that I am really being to understand this a little. Things can be tough, but it doesn’t mean that we can’t experience joy. So does joy mean that we put on our fake smile and try to be charming in social settings so that everyone thinks we’re happy?  Or do we say, “Oh, yes, it’s been hard, but God is good.”? If you’ve seen me during a rough patch, I’ve probably given you both responses, but I’m learning that there’s a whole lot more to joy than that.

Look at what Jesus’ brother James says about it: Count it all joy, my brothers, whenever you meet trials of various kinds, for you know that the testing of your faith produces steadfastness. This week I was really curious about this because frankly, I was irritated. What if I don’t want steadfastness? Or trials? When my kid is hurting and family members are physically suffering, or if we are going through really hard stuff, I should count it all joy? James says emphatically, “Yes”. Okay, when I thought about James’ perspective, it makes it a little easier to swallow. He was talking to the Jewish people who were believers of Jesus Christ, scattered among non-believing people, and they were being persecuted for their faith. I know some people don’t like me and relationships can be messy, but it’s quite a different perspective to understand that James penned these words to people who were really experiencing trials beyond what my suburban mind can fathom.

So James is coming at us with this outlook: You’re scattered from your home with people who don’t understand or think like you.  Some of them want to kill you because they don’t like that. But when you are being tested or in a trial, count it all joy.  That means think about it as joy, decide to find something to rejoice about. So I’m getting the idea here from James that joy doesn’t just mean that I’m a really smiley person with a great laugh, no matter how tough life is. He might be saying, Yes, you are facing persecution and loneliness and maybe death. Decide to find joy in it. Almost forgot!  Count it all joy. Because you know that the testing of your faith develops steadfastness.  I’m going to be really honest and tell you that I haven’t given much thought to developing perseverance before.  It sounds pretty good, but I wouldn’t necessarily want it as a trade-off for really hard times.

So I think the take away for me is this: I can be really mad and discouraged in trials of various kinds. I can kick and scream and question God about if He loves me, how could he not get me out of this. I can get downcast or depressed or just complain a lot. (I’ve done all of the above) But it seems a lot more beneficial to practice this upside down idea from James.  Maybe that’s what true joy is.  Deciding to choose joy in tough circumstances. Asking God to teach me through them and develop perseverance, character, and steadfastness in me through the trial.  Otherwise it would just end up being a rough time. I’d rather it be training ground for developing qualities in me that I didn’t know I needed, but boy do I need them!

True Joy: The world didn’t give it to me and the world can’t take it away.

One thought on “True Joy

  1. Your post on Joy really hits home as I am going to Jerusalem with 33 of my Braveheart Sisters. Supporting our Palestinian and Israeli Braveheart Sisters whom have been working together for the past couple of years. Coming out of conflict and into Collaboration. Evolving together harmoniously with courage and grace. Loving what I am doing because it brings me so much Joy. I am grateful for your presents here in cyber space you are a blessings of the unseen that I listen to with my heart wide open and my head bowed to the Lord ~<3~

Leave a Reply

