Charm is deceitful

Uncategorized

I thought I had finally found the facial product. I bought a sampler pack of a new “anti-aging” skincare line today. (Who named it “anti-aging”?  Isn’t that a misnomer?) I didn’t have really high hopes, but when I followed directions and applied products, I was pretty sure that the parentheses next to my mouth were almost erased immediately. I was excited!!! Then I put on my glasses and was disappointed to see that they were still there. I guess I’ll give it another try and see what happens, maybe in 4-6 weeks I’ll look different. Or maybe not!

My constant attempts to look younger has gotten me thinking. I’ve come to the conclusion that I can keep chasing after youth, or trying to run from age, but it’s inevitable. The proverb below kept coming to mind, so I decided to investigate a little. I looked up the Hebrew meanings of the words because  I was so curious about it! Here ya go:

Charm (to find favor in the eyes of someone) is deceitful (lie, deception, disappointment, falsehood), and beauty (splendor, brightness, gracefulness) is vain (breath, vapor),
but a woman who fears (fears and reverences) the LORD (Jehovah, the existing One)  is to be praised (to shine, figuratively of God’s favor).

Do you ever wonder why it seems that we’re always dreading looking older? Yet Proverbs tells us that “Gray hair is a crown of splendor.” My crown of splendor is covered by L’Oreal! It’s inevitable we are going to age, we are aging even as I type this. Herschel and I often laugh at ourselves when we see someone after several years, because if one of us remarks that they look older, we remind each other: so do you!

Above in Proverbs 31:30, written thousands of years ago, God is reminding us: Outward beauty is a breath away from disappearing. This became extra real to me lately, because I have a red and  swollen nose due to an abscess inside my nostril, so it looks bad, right smack in the middle of my faceWeird, huh? But as I would apply extra makeup trying to cover it, without success, I realized just how fleeting and unimportant outer beauty really is. Would my friends love me less if I have an oversized red nose? I doubt it. Will it impact the quality or depth of my relationships? Only if I let it.

I guess I don’t mind aging so much in a lot of ways. I’m more confident and comfortable in my own skin. The problem comes with the deadly trap of comparison. When I begin comparing myself to other women, I usually fall significantly short. It’s a trap I’d like to avoid more often, and just enjoy who I am, and remember that the only lasting beauty I will have is the unfading beauty that comes from fearing God.


Leave a Reply

