A decade flies by

Uncategorized

Time flies.  Time is what you make of it.  Time is a valuable resource; you cannot save it or buy it.

They say that time passes more quickly with each year that we age.  I’m not really sure who “they” are, but time does seem to zoom past me more with each passing year.

When I was a mom of young children, it felt as if time was going by soooo slooowly.  As I look over the past five years, I am appalled at how swiftly the time has gone by.  Only five years are left with our youngest child at home.  That’s pretty alarming.  Only five years left!

Recently when I was packing, I found this sweet picture of Danielle with her Daddy.  This was exactly a decade ago.

I’m really not sure how this happened.  Ten years ago this adorable curly-headed girl was three years old.  Did I mention that she is adorable?  She was always chatting, always full of life, and would not let me touch her hair. Our friend used to call her “Spicy” because she was so spirited and feisty.

She’s now 13 years old and taller than me. Her curls have smoothed out into waves, and now she lets me help her with it.  It’s true that we can’t avoid our children growing up; it’s what they are supposed to do.  Yet it brings a twinge of sadness with the joy as I look back and see how short time really is.  Moms of young children, invest!  It DOES matter.  So let’s not grow weary.  There will be a harvest if we don’t give up.  Every song we sing, and every Dr. Seuss book we read matters.  Every band-aid and hug, every tickle and every laugh.  Soon they won’t fit onto your lap anymore and you’ll have to settle for just their head on your lap when lying down on the couch.

My job as a parent is far from over, I know that I will have a deep love and concern for our children no matter what their ages.  I’m learning that it’s a fallacy to think that we are done when the kids are eighteen.  Parenting doesn’t really get easier and easier with each passing year, it just gets different and different.

Thirteen

Galatians 6:9
Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up.

2 thoughts on “A decade flies by

Leave a Reply

