Are you going to wear white?

Uncategorized

Yep, that's me on March 1st, 1997

I distinctly remember someone asking me this question 15 years ago as Herschel and I planned our wedding. I was coming into the marriage as a mom already. I had a very cute 4-year-old boy, Christian. With the support and love of my parents, I had made the decision to be a single parent and give life to him. It was really hard and really wonderful. When the person asked me, “Are you going to wear white for your wedding?”, I defensively answered, “Yes,” but I did think about it. I wondered: What should I wear? Red? Cream? Brown? Everyone already knows I’m not a virgin; They saw me as a twenty year old pregnant girl and I’ve given birth!

Fast forward to today. I don’t have to ask myself that question anymore. When God looks at me, He doesn’t see all the stuff I’ve done wrong and define who I am by that. I know if my wedding dress were based on my past actions, it would be a filthy rag. But that is not who I am today. When God looks at me, He sees the righteousness and beauty of Jesus. I am free to wear a beautiful, white garment and wear it with joy and freedom.

I

Isn't this sweet?

One thought on “Are you going to wear white?

Leave a Reply

