Don’t forget

Uncategorized


One of the easiest things for me to forget is where I parked my car. And that’s usually something I did less than an hour ago. Yet I’ll find myself wandering around the parking lot, trying not to look lost and like an idiot, intermittently pressing my car alarm button in hopes of hearing a chirp sound. I retrace my steps, and try to remember which side of the store I came in, looking for landmarks- anything that will spark some recollection.

I am prone to forget. And God knows how much. Although I have seen God do many miraculous things in my life, I don’t always remember. A few weeks ago I sent out an email to a few friends from the Israel trip last year. Included in the email was this:
Deuteronomy 4:9
Only be careful, and watch yourselves closely so that you do not forget the things your eyes have seen or let them fade from your heart as long as you live. Teach them to your children and to their children after them.
Our time together was to talk about and remember the things God had spoken or impressed on our hearts during that trip. Imagine my surprise a couple weeks later, I walked into our family camp meeting room and saw this picture at the front and center of the room:

This is the image on the powerpoint screen for our theme at Family Camp

I had a “WOW! God you are King of the universe, and yet you are so personal with me,” moment. The theme of the family camp we went to last week was “Remember”. And it’s in Hebrew letters! (Get it? Israel, Hebrew letters?) And guess what the theme verse of our Family Camp speaker sessions were? Yep, you guessed it, Deuteronomy 4:9 again! The very same verse that I had been thinking about and emailed not long before. I felt like God has specially planned this message just for me when I walked into our first speaker session on Monday morning last week. So this week I feel like God wants me to intentionally remember the things he has done. Remember who He is. That just like when I am desperately wandering around the Wal-Mart parking lot in hopes of something, okay, ANYthing, to help me remember…so I pray, God help me see milestones and things in my life that will remind me of what a great God you are.

In the past couple weeks, we've been able to "remember" things God has done with missionaries we served with in Nigeria. Time together with these families was so sweet and fun!

.

This was a special time to remember, as we prayed and talked about how God worked in our lives at Family Camp throughout the week

 

Jesus, help me remember that I need You and I cannot do life without You. You are the way, You are my peace.

God today I remember:
1. You are good, and everything You do is good.
2. You are powerful, there is none like You
3. You are a God who saves, who redeems, who heals.
4. You comfort those in need
5. You love me. You know the depths of my heart and yet you love me!
6. You give me the capacity to love
7. Nothing is too difficult for You

8. You have healed me from depression and darkness

9. You have given me life when I deserve death and punishment for my sins.

10. You have healed me from fear and anxiety

11. You have healed me from addictions.

 

Leave a Reply

