Don’t check your brains at the door

Uncategorized

These are the very words of God

Most of my life my faith in God has been one of emotion and experience. Until last year when I went to Israel on a teaching/extreme hiking trip, I really didn’t know any different. Since then, I’m learning that the Bible is not only God’s very words to us, but that it’s an amazing historical document that archeology and history validate. One of my VERY favorite sites in Israel was Hezekiah’s tunnel.

Casey tries to scare me in Hezekiah's tunnel. Notice the width of tunnel and you can still see pick marks from 701 BC


Hezekiah’s tunnel is 1,750 feet long (or, about a third of a mile, or 583 yards) The Bible records in Second Chronicles 32:30: “It was Hezekiah who blocked the upper outlet of the Gihon spring and channeled the water down to the west side of the City of David.” Second Chronicles 32:2-4 says that Hezekiah had blocked off the Gihon’s springs flow to pools and streams outside the city so that when the Assyrians came they would not find any water around the outside of the city. This water was then diverted into Hezekiah’s tunnel that ran under the city into the new pool called the Pool of Siloam. The Bible reads: “When Hezekiah saw that Sennacherib had come and that he intended to make war on Jerusalem, he consulted with his officials and military staff about blocking off the water from the springs outside the city, and they helped him. A large force of men assembled, and they blocked all the springs and the stream that flowed through the land.’Why should the kings of Assyria come and find plenty of water?’ they asked.”

Christianity is sometimes thought of as a crutch. My experience tells me that it’s not. Beyond that, ancient sites like Hezekiah’s tunnel and historical documents prove that I don’t have to check my brains at the door to follow Christ.

Water flowing in the tunnel

2 thoughts on “Don’t check your brains at the door

  1. Christine, Thank You for sharing about Hezekiah’s tunnel. I loved seeing the actual photographs and your comments about seeing the pick marks dated way back. Did you get the good chills? I enjoyed gaining the perspective of how narrow the tunnel is and the water still flowing at your feet. These photos are now imprinted on my mind and I will read those Scriptures with new understanding.
    Thank You!! Ann

Leave a Reply

